Posted by: Joelle Burnette | September 5, 2013

Vampires in the Lemon Grove

Vampires in the Lemon GroveI have begun writing book reviews on GoodReads, and my latest review was of Karen Russell’s Vampires in the Lemon Grove.

I must admit, I’m rather jealous of Russell’s imagery. The way she writes leaves me writhing on the floor in pain because it is so damn good. Anyone who wants to write, or thinks they know how to write well, should read Russell’s stories. Her eloquent composition will whip you into a humble mass of goo.

Have you read the book? Which was your favorite story? I found “Reeling for the Empire” to be a bizarre story, one with clear ties to her appreciation for Franz Kafka She mentioned his influence in an interview I read. I, too, am so very thankful for unusual minds like that of Kafka. I loved reading his stories when I was a child.

Also, I particularly enjoyed “The New Veterans” for its cleverness and contemporary ties. I know an Iraq war veteran or two who wouldn’t mind similar services. Overall, I’d have to say the final story, “The Graveless Doll of Eric Mutis,” was my favorite.

Read my review at GoodReads. I have more reviews at the website. If you read this book, let me know what you think of it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

