Posted by: Joelle Burnette | July 15, 2012

Fun being on the radio on Friday the 13th

On air at KSRO with Michelle Marques

I had so much fun being on the radio this week. I had to be at KSRO radio in Santa Rosa by 8 a.m. on Friday, but I was so anxious to get there, I drove there a bit too early and arrived by 7:30 a.m. Being that it was Friday the 13th, I didn’t want to take the chance of something going wrong along the route.

Mark came along with me to take photos. My poor husband was exhausted after getting home from work around 1:30 a.m. that morning, but he is so damn supportive and came with me.

I was on the air with Michelle Marques. I felt at ease with this radio anchor who was wearing a bright yellow flower lei, and she was fun to talk with on the air.

I got to talk about my book, Cancer Time Bomb, and say “hi” to my parents who were listening to the online feed on their computer at their home in South Carolina. I miss my parents terribly and wish they didn’t live so far away.

Still, I know they are really happy living there. And anyway, my mom is painting every day getting ready for a gallery show of her work, and it sounds like my dad’s health is improving.

Mark in his “bumblebee” shirt doing some social networking on his iphone.

After the interview, we realized we forgot to mention the station had some of my signed books to give away to listeners. Michelle got back on air after a commercial and made the announcement. I can’t express how exciting it was to see the phone lines light up instantly after she made the offer! It felt good to know someone was listening.

I signed the books for the winners, and we head home so Mark could go back to sleep. I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep again, even after having not slept much the night before because I was so excited about being on the radio.

So now, I wish I had a job on air at a radio station. Mark said I have a good radio voice. As long as I don’t cuss on air, I should be fine.

Actually, Mark started out in radio before he ended up directing television. He’s always talked about how much fun radio is, and it was his dream to someday own/run a station.

We came close once. We even had serious talks about selling our home and buying a station in Northern California in the town of Mt. Shasta. My parents had gone with us on a trip to the town to check out the station because they were going to partner with us. But then, we found out Michelle had her first breast cancer, and everything changed. We became bound to the Bay Area and Mark’s dream was put on hold. Who knows if it will ever happen again.

Michelle Marques was very nice and did a great interview.

Of course, I’ve always thought he should start a Southern barbecue restaurant. We’d have all the fixin’s from North Carolina where he spent much of his youth. Hushpuppies, Brunswick stew…the works.

Dreams. Hmm.

Yesterday, I asked Mark, am I motivated to succeed, or a dreamer who lives in fantasy land with all my plans about my writing and my book’s popularity? I just want to sell my book and leave some legacy on the world other than through my children. I want to leave my mark and know that I did something important instead of feeling like a loser.

On that note, I e-mailed a question to Sir Richard Branson. I read he answers many of the questions submitted on a website I found. Let’s see if he answers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

