Posted by: Joelle Burnette | October 22, 2011

Finding new ways to laugh at my husband

I’m sitting at my computer working and all I hear is the rattling of a doorknob as my husband attempts to open the closet in the entry hall. Rattle, rattle, and rattle some more, but the knob is stuck and won’t release the latch to open the door.

I start laughing after realizing his latest task.

“Shut up,” he calls out. I laugh some more.

Figgy, our cat (who loves me and puts up with Mark) is sitting in the kitchen at the entrance to the hallway. She’s watching his attempt to strangle the doorknob. I continue to laugh.

“The only thing that saves you is that the baseball bat is inside the closet,” says Mark.

Figgy loves curling up in this box. I think she wants to be shipped off to a sane family.

He gives up and returns to the kitchen where Figgy looks up at him.

“She thinks you’re a loser,” I said.

“No she doesn’t,” he said to her in a baby voice.

“Yes, she does.”

“You don’t think I’m a loser, do you Figgy,” he continues his baby talk.

The cat responds with a meow.

“She sure does,” I said.

Mark goes into the living room, but can’t leave his task alone. He returns to the door. Rattle, rattle.

“When we sell the place, we still won’t be able to get in,” I said.

A few hours later, my son returns home from high school. I tell him the story about how his dad couldn’t get the door open. He walks over to the door, turns the knob, and voila, the door opens.

“Daddy couldn’t get that door open to save his life. How did you do that? What’s your secret?” I asked.

“Turn the knob,” George says like it’s nothing.

Yippee! Something else I can torture my husband about. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

